Red Gate forums :: View topic - Command Line Script Error
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Packager 6
SQL Packager 6 forum

Command Line Script Error

Search in SQL Packager 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
creejohson



Joined: 01 Mar 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:56 pm    Post subject: Command Line Script Error Reply with quote

Hi --

I'm trying to execute a package from the command line and want to upgrade an existing db. The arguments I'm using are below:

/server:myserver /database:mydb /username:myuser /password:mypassword /quiet

This fails with error: CREATE DATABASE permission denied in database master

I read in the forum that giving the calling user those permissions will allow the script to be run successfully. I don't have that luxury unfortunately. Is there another way to execute an upgrade using this tool?

Thanks
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthew Flatt



Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Chris,

What permissions does the user that will want to run the upgrade package have?

The CREATE DATABASE permission should only be needed for a new database package and not an upgrade package.

Thanks,
_________________
Matthew Flatt
Test Engineer, HyperBac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nnodari



Joined: 30 Mar 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matthew Flatt,

When we choose a "Package a Script" project the command line execution always try to "create a database".

i have the same problem...

There should be an argument as /upgrade, instead of /makedatabase
_________________
Att
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creejohson



Joined: 01 Mar 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The user has database owner privileges, but they don't have any other server-wide privileges. They can run the package fine from the GUI but not from the command line...same issue as nnodari. If there was a /makedatabase:false switch or the switch nnodari suggested perhaps that would solve the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6646

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Chris,

There is a bug in SQL Packager that is causing a database to be created whenever an existing script is packaged. The workaround for this is described in our knowledge base.

Sorry for the inconvenience.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group