Red Gate forums :: View topic - Feature requests - checkbox for "use"
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Multi Script 1
SQL Multi Script 1 forum

Feature requests - checkbox for "use"

Search in SQL Multi Script 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Petro



Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 4:39 pm    Post subject: Feature requests - checkbox for "use" Reply with quote

Hi all Smile

updates are sometimes for more than one database. in oure case, we often make separated scripts (files) to make sure the script runs on the correct db. so we use a "use". but multiscript does not change back the db-context, witch is not the db that is shown in multiscript.

for us, the need for "use" is imported, because we do not use multiscript to update productive dbs (yet).

Possibilities:
- option for "check for 'use' and mark at import"
- checkbox on each script for "set back the db before run the script"

thanks for thinking about

see ya
petro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HJoyce



Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have logged this as a feature request to be considered in the next release. Thanks for the feedback.

Regards,
Helen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
shadowbob



Joined: 02 Feb 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A feature similar to this would probably be considered my "#1" productivity booster. Basically, I'd love an option to "Override USE statements in script" so that if any USE statements happen to be in the script, they go away and the script actually runs on the database which Multi Script intends it to. This would literally shave minutes off of every single work day for me. Thanks a bunch!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roust_m



Joined: 28 Apr 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But what if you have something like this:
USE MyDB
[do some schema changes here]
USE msdb
[create some jobs here]

if you ignore all USE statements your script may fail.

I would rather have an ability to do automatic replacements like this:
USE {database name}
[do some schema changes here]
USE msdb
[create some jobs here]
So {database name} would automaticaly be replaces to the database the script runs against.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Colin Millerchip



Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 66
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion, I've logged this request and we'll consider it for the next release.

Best regards,


Colin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group