Red Gate forums :: View topic - Running SQL Packager from Command Line
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Packager Previous Versions
SQL Packager Previous Versions forum

Running SQL Packager from Command Line

Search in SQL Packager Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
rkhorkp



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Location: Tulsa, OK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:38 am    Post subject: Running SQL Packager from Command Line Reply with quote

This is what I currently am using:

I have an .net application that
1. runs the SQL Packager from command line to create a temp database.
2. runs sql compare on certain tables between production database and the temp database.
3. runs sql data compare on certain tables between production database and the temp database.
4. delete the temp database.

When I was using an older version, I was able to run this without any user interaction. But now, with version 5, after creating the temp database, there is a prompt that says package is successfull. Can this be remove?

I tried using the quiet mode, but when it does that, there is no indication of work being done. I like how it was in version 1.1 where at the end of the process, there is no prompt and I was able to show the progress of running the package.

Hope this make sense.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6645

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Maybe the old DOS trick of redirecting the output would help?
Code:
sqlpackagetest /server:BRIAN /database:test /makedatabase /quiet > NUL:


Sending the output to NUL: will cause the command-line interpreter to eat the output instead of writing it to the console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rkhorkp



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Location: Tulsa, OK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Brian for the tip. This does not work for me. I like the progress indicator with 5.0, but just not the last message box that comes up when the process is complete.

Is there ay way for me to get the progress indicator, but not the ok message box that come up at the end?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6645

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm guessing that the quiet option suppresses both the progress bar and the completion message. If that's the case, it looks like an all-or-nothing deal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
B Aho



Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:47 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Brian Donahue wrote:
Hi,

I'm guessing that the quiet option suppresses both the progress bar and the completion message. If that's the case, it looks like an all-or-nothing deal.


Brian,

We're also having the same issue... I didn't see this thread until after I posted a new one. (Oh well, it is sure to be seen now...)

The previous version worked fine... it was only after we went to version 5 that this became a problem for us.

Surely this was an oversight in version 5 that can be corrected somehow?

This is becoming an issue for us to the point that we may need to consider other tools.

Thanks,
Bryan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6645

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Version 5 changed the package format from a Windows Form application that supported writing messages to the console to a console application that can launch a Windows form. The other design presented problems with console messages, and this is why the change was made.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
B Aho



Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Brian Donahue wrote:
Hello,

Version 5 changed the package format from a Windows Form application that supported writing messages to the console to a console application that can launch a Windows form. The other design presented problems with console messages, and this is why the change was made.


That makes sense... except for the need for a final dialog with an ok button.

It looks like there is a reply on the other thread that describes how to suppress the dialog... I'll give that a try.

Thanks for the assistance! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group