Red Gate forums :: View topic - Doubling the columns
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Log Rescue
SQL Log Rescue forum

Doubling the columns

Search in SQL Log Rescue forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
bsawyer



Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:44 am    Post subject: Doubling the columns Reply with quote

I bought the SQL Log Rescue to correct the mistake that someone made on one of our production boxes. They deleted all the tables. I restored from the back up that had only happened a couple of hours earlier, but before I did that I also backed up the transaction log again, so I could restore up to the time they deleted the tables. The only problem I have getting is that the SQL output of the program has every column twice. IE if one of the tables has a column called "MyNumber" then the output would have "Insert Into Foo (MyNumber, MyNumber) Values (1,1)".

Does anyone have ANY idea what is causing this?

Thanks,
Benji
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6641

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Benji,

Thanks for posting. I certainly haven't seen anything like this before. I'll pass this on to the development people and see if they have a sensible explanation. It may come down to getting a copy of the database.

Some things to think about (ie things that Log Rescue doesn't like) schema changes in the database, changes in recovery model, or corrupted backup files or log (lDF) files. Has this database had any of these things done to it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bsawyer



Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:19 pm    Post subject: Doubled columns Reply with quote

There haven't been any schema changes. What happened is I accidentally deleted the tables in one of our production databases. Before I did anything else I backed up the log file. I was then able to restore that from a backup made much earlier in the day. I took a more recent backup, that I couldn't get applied on the server, and applied it to a development copy of the database. I then tried to use the software to apply the changes that happened after the backup but before I dropped the tables.

Upon closer inspection I also noticed that the record information (sorry, I'm typing this from home) that appears on the bottom of the screen when you select a item in the top part of the screen, also has every column twice. When you clicked on the second column, for instance, to get information out of it for a long text field, it threw an exception (I think it was a null value one).

Hope this helps out some.

Thanks,
Benji
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6641

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Benji,

In the project settings, have you included the full backup as well as the log backup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bsawyer



Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I selected both the full backup (which includes a backup of the data and transaction log) and just the backup of the log I took when I realized my mistake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group