Red Gate forums :: View topic - WMI & RPC Not working across subnets
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Monitor 3
SQL Monitor 3 forum

WMI & RPC Not working across subnets

Search in SQL Monitor 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
aseniuk



Joined: 16 Jun 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:05 pm    Post subject: WMI & RPC Not working across subnets Reply with quote

Hi All,

We are trying to setup the red gate SQL monitoring tool to monitor 90 SQL servers but after running through http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/Content/SQL_Monitor/help/3.2/SM_Testing_data_collection; we are not able to connect to WMI. We are connecting across firewalls and have opened up TCP 135, 445, 1024-65535. Is there any missing ports?

We can get file sharing and remote registry working but WMI is bringing up the following error: 0x800706ba The RPC Server is unavailable. What we are seeing is that the packet is larger then 1500 so it is fragmenting the packet, could that be causing the issue? I can connect to WMI inside the subnet but not across the firewall.

My permissions are being used to test access, I am an administrator on both servers.

If anyone has any insight that would be great. Otherwise I am going to have to open up a ticket to Microsoft to see if they can figure out why we cannot connect to WMI over subnets.

Thanks
Adam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Adam

Apologies for this. I've looked into this error and the vast majority of online advice suggests that it's either a firewall or DNS issue.

It doesn't look like you've missed any ports on your firewall so it might be worth trying with ip addresses rather than the server names if you haven't already. I realise that with 90 servers this would only be a short-term solution but I believe it would confirm a DNS issue if there is one.

Also the page where I found this suggestion is full of useful WMI information - http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee692772.aspx

Please let us know if this helps.

Regards
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aseniuk



Joined: 16 Jun 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We are currently opening a support case with microsoft as our network is a bit more complicated then most. I will post any relevent information as to a fix just incase someone else gets the same issue when using WMI (RPC) over subnets within the same network with firewalls protecting the environments.

RPC Error 0x800706BA
_________________
Database Analyst
Alberta Justice and Solicitor General
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aseniuk



Joined: 16 Jun 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Just to note we have tried IP, full URL and short NetBIOS naming.

Chris Spencer wrote:
Hi Adam

Apologies for this. I've looked into this error and the vast majority of online advice suggests that it's either a firewall or DNS issue.

It doesn't look like you've missed any ports on your firewall so it might be worth trying with ip addresses rather than the server names if you haven't already. I realise that with 90 servers this would only be a short-term solution but I believe it would confirm a DNS issue if there is one.

Also the page where I found this suggestion is full of useful WMI information - http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee692772.aspx

Please let us know if this helps.

Regards
Chris

_________________
Database Analyst
Alberta Justice and Solicitor General
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

aseniuk wrote:
Just to note we have tried IP, full URL and short NetBIOS naming.

It sounds like you've pretty much tried everything. Let's hope that Microsoft can shed some light on the issue.

Regards
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aseniuk



Joined: 16 Jun 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We found out what was the issue, our IPS was blocking the traffic going through via WMI. So just remember even when you allow the traffic on your firewalls that something else may think it is not a good idea.
_________________
Database Analyst
Alberta Justice and Solicitor General
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

aseniuk wrote:
We found out what was the issue, our IPS was blocking the traffic going through via WMI. So just remember even when you allow the traffic on your firewalls that something else may think it is not a good idea.


Thanks for letting us know :)

Regards
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group