Red Gate forums :: View topic - Partial Instrumentation in COM+
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 6
ANTS Performance Profiler 6 forum

Partial Instrumentation in COM+

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
ChristopheS



Joined: 31 Jan 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:23 am    Post subject: Partial Instrumentation in COM+ Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a Windows service that is monitoring a queue from MQSeries. When a message arrives, a .NET transaction is created in order to get(consume) the message in a transactional way.

Then the service is calling a COM+ component that joins the transaction and runs the business logic on it.

When I try to instrument this (at COM+ level), even if I have many messages in the queues and many calls are done to COM+, but "performance Profiler" is only instrumenting the first call to COM+.

Do I do something wrong ?

Christophe S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 585

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, I don't fully understand what you mean. A screen shot of:

ANTS showing the call tree +
ANTS showing the method grid results

will be very helpful.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChristopheS



Joined: 31 Jan 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The architecture is as follows:

Client -> COM+ Package

In my scenario the client will do 1 call to COM+.

Internally inside COM+, the called component will make many calls (37) to a main business component. During my instrumentation, only 1 or 2 calls (even 0 sometimes) are captured.

Extra info:
- Type of instrumentation: Method-level timings; all methods (faster)
- My client is a Windows service
- Code is release version
- No PDB files deployed
- I have often "Interop.SEHException" logged by the profiler at the beginning of the execution (but don't know what this means)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 585

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like frustratingly, 'one-of-those-things'. i.e. instrumenting code can interfere with the usual operation (it can reveal otherwise-hidden race-conditions, change thread-scheduling order, change permissions and lead to accessviolations etc).

Does running in sampling mode give you more 9if less detailed) information?

You may find running the profiler *explicitly* as administrator helps. Otherwise, if you wanted we would analyse a memory dump and try to understand the part ANTS is playing in any exceptions...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group