Red Gate forums :: View topic - SQL Prompt 6.4 beta (Now closed)
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt 6
SQL Prompt 6 forum

SQL Prompt 6.4 beta (Now closed)

Search in SQL Prompt 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi jsreynolds1,

Thanks for the heads up, it does sound odd especially if it let you run the installer afterwards without a problem. We occasionally get our dlls marked as false positives as our obfuscator has been used by some viruses but normally having it digitally signed solves that (which the installer is)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Kevin,

The help link uses our help redirect system which hadn't been set up for 6.4 yet as it's still in beta, I'll have a look into see if we can get it redirecting correctly today. (it should be pointing to http://documentation.red-gate.com/display/SP6/Managing+snippets)

Edit: Should be fixed now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsreynolds1



Joined: 14 Jun 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 5:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Antivirus Reply with quote

Aaron,

Here are two screenshots of the latest Avast software scan log (real-time protection) which was preventing me from installing. Hopefully this might help?

Picture1
Picture2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the extra info – from the first picture it looks like Avast has marked it as suspicious, I had a quick search online and it seems like a few people have been getting false positives marked as Win32:Evo-gen [Susp].

There's a chance it's just a one off for that specific build but if it's still causing problems when we get closer to releasing a stable build we'll see if Avast can add it to a whitelist.

The second picture looks like the remnants of an old install (under Downloaded Installations) which wasn't digitally signed properly and should be safe to delete.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theit8514



Joined: 18 Jul 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am no longer able to get a list of parameters for a procedure when positioned directly after a procedure call or a comma after the last parameter of a procedure call. http://i.imgur.com/Phq5gWk.png

Running 6.4.0.404 (went back to 6.3 to test if that feature was there and it appears it was http://i.imgur.com/W0qVc7H.png)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi theit8514,

Thanks for reporting this, it looks like it was broken in 6.4.0.397. We've got a fix for it internally and should be able to get a new build out for you tomorrow.

Thanks,
Aaron.

Edit: This should be fixed in the latest build (6.4.0.449)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CodantiM



Joined: 29 Jun 2007
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:05 pm    Post subject: Suggestion selection bug Reply with quote

I just found a bug in the current release and beta version of SQL Prompt.

The problem is if you have a snippet with the same name as what you have typed. for example:

SELECT MIN(DO<cursor>

At this point the suggestions come up with the snippet highlighted, if I arrow down to select a column, for example "DOE", and hit tab the snippet is inserted instead of the selected column name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi CodantiM,
Thanks for reporting this! I think it's due to where prompt will expand wildcards and snippets when tab is pressed and it's expanding the "do" as a snippet here instead of letting the suggestion popup handle it.
I think I've got a fix for you in this private build (6.4.0.499) if you wouldn't mind giving it a try?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CodantiM



Joined: 29 Jun 2007
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aaron,

Thank you very much for the quick fix, it does indeed fix the problem for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the confirmation - I'll make sure the fix is included in our next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theit8514



Joined: 18 Jul 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure if this is related to SQL Prompt, but I installed the 537 version on the 27th and have had three crashes since then when closing SSMS. I have updated to the latest build, but wanted to report this anyways because I did not see anything in the change log mentioning it.

In the SQL Prompt log, I get this warning message:
01 Sep 2014 06:07:17,217 [1] WARN RedGate.SQLQueryKeeper.TabWatcher - Exception trying to log document information
System.InvalidCastException: Unable to cast COM object of type 'System.__ComObject' to interface type 'Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Interop.IVsPersistDocData'. This operation failed because the QueryInterface call on the COM component for the interface with IID '{D5D49C61-1C0B-4EA1-9ADB-A79FB1DBC7B5}' failed due to the following error: No such interface supported (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004002 (E_NOINTERFACE)).
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Platform.WindowManagement.DTE.DocumentWindow.get_DocData()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Platform.WindowManagement.DTE.DocumentWindow.get_ObjectKind()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Platform.WindowManagement.DTE.WindowBase.<get_ObjectKind>b__2a()
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.ThreadHelper.Invoke[TResult](Func`1 method)
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Platform.WindowManagement.DTE.WindowBase.get_ObjectKind()
at RedGate.SQLQueryKeeper.TabWatcher.LogDocumentInformation(Document document, Boolean documentClosing)

And then once I close the application:
Faulting application name: Ssms.exe, version: 2011.110.5058.0, time stamp: 0x537406e3
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 6.2.9200.16864, time stamp: 0x531d2be6
Exception code: 0xc0020001
Fault offset: 0x00010f22
Faulting process id: 0x12e4
Faulting application start time: 0x01cfc64cf67abaf2
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\110\Tools\Binn\ManagementStudio\Ssms.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: 1cbc2309-32cf-11e4-be79-000c295d77cf
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

I only have the developer bundle installed, no other extensions. I do not get the Red-Gate exception dialog appearing. The only indicator is SSMS restarting.


Edit: well, I may be going crazy. I'm in the middle of rebuilding my development machine VM and this error cropped up on the new machine. The crash shows up in the Event log on the old VM, but I don't remember seeing it. I think maybe I have it configured to not restart crashed applications.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi theit8514,

Thanks for letting us know about this.
Unfortunately we're not able to recreate this locally at the moment so to help us in recreating it I wanted to check which version of windows you're running and also which .Net frameworks are installed on your VM?
Also, can you think of anything else that we might need to do to trigger it here? Maybe connecting to a specific server or running multiple instances of SSMS?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ephraim



Joined: 07 Sep 2013
Posts: 15
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:50 pm    Post subject: semicolon issue Reply with quote

exec dbo.test @test = 1 with recompile

does not put the semicolon in the right place
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 244
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ephraim,

I just gave it a go and I get the semicolon at the end of the statement (which I think is correct):

Are you seeing something different?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ephraim



Joined: 07 Sep 2013
Posts: 15
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:28 pm    Post subject: semicolon issue Reply with quote

I get this:
exec dbo.test @test= 1; with recompile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group