Red Gate forums :: View topic - SQL Prompt 6.4 beta (Now closed)
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt 6
SQL Prompt 6 forum

SQL Prompt 6.4 beta (Now closed)

Search in SQL Prompt 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
KevinGreiner



Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, "run current statement" (shift-F5) seems broken now.

With only a single statement in a file, it selected all but the last 2 characters. I can send a screenshot if needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 241
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've put attempt #2 up, hopefully this is 99.9% perfect Wink it'll still move the cursor if it's in the middle of a load of whitespace that changes as it doesn't have a reference point, but hopefully it's a rare enough case not to bother you too much!

Shift+F5 should be fixed now too.

The options window closing is very odd - I can't recreate it here, even on slow VMs. On closing the options form Prompt will try to save out the options to their xml files. Do you have your settings files saving anywhere out of the ordinary (e.g. a network drive) or have you remapped your localappdata directory? I'm wondering if this is somehow related to the slowdown you were seeing with the refresh - is that still occurring?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dbbishop



Joined: 13 Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas City, MO

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

David Priddle wrote:
Hi dbbishop,

We'll have this out later this week.

Best regards,

David

Cool. I have been thinking a bit more on it. I notice that when you right-click in the SSMS query window, there are the options to run current statement or run current batch. Might be overloading to have options to "run to cursor" and "run current batch to cursor". Not sure if there are enough keys on the keyboard to include shortcuts for them using the F5 key (there is still shift-ctrl-F5. I guess there is shift-ctrl-alt-F5 Smile ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 241
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi dbbishop,

Execute to cursor should be in the latest beta build (6.4.0.300). It's bound to Ctrl+Shift+F5 - you're right that we're running out of space/keyboard shortcuts for all these commands! Smile

We decided it was getting a little bit too cluttered on the right click menu with all these in there, so we've just left execute current statement there and the rest are as keyboard shortcuts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigeltrevor



Joined: 10 Jul 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 10:55 am    Post subject: Intellisense on other databases not coming up Reply with quote

Hi there, on the 6.4 beta, intellisense seems to not come up for "external" databases without an owner supplied

select * from [table_name] comes up correctly
select * from [database_name].[owner].[table_name] comes up correctly
select * from [database_name]..[table_name] is not recognised at all, but used to work in 6.3

Is this a known issue?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 241
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi nigeltrevor,

We did put in a fix for resolving the double dot syntax to the default schema so this could have been a knock on from that. For the very basic case of a default schema of dbo it seems to be working for me at the moment:


Could you check what result you get back if you run SELECT SCHEMA_NAME(); both on the external database and the current database?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigeltrevor



Joined: 10 Jul 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:27 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Aaron Law wrote:
Could you check what result you get back if you run SELECT SCHEMA_NAME(); both on the external database and the current database?


I get "NULL"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 241
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!

NULL should be defaulting to dbo, and just to double check do you get different suggestions if you have:

select * from [database_name].[dbo].<cursor here>
compared to
select * from [database_name]..<cursor here>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigeltrevor



Joined: 10 Jul 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:43 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

No probs

Aaron Law wrote:
select * from [database_name].[dbo].<cursor here>


I get the normal list of tables if I do this (works as expected)

Aaron Law wrote:
select * from [database_name]..<cursor here>


I only get the prompt for snippets here

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 241
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very strange,
I'm still not able to recreate it here but I'll have a look through the code and see if I can figure out why they would differ. Thanks for reporting it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KevinGreiner



Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Confirmed that "Format SQL" doesn't move the cursor anymore except when in the middle of several lines of white space which is fine. Don't know why I didn't report this months ago! Thanks for fixing this!

Confirmed that Shift-F5 is fixed as well.

The options window closes fine now. It may have been related to several slow network drives that I use via a VPN. I've noticed file save/open dialogs responding slowly in other apps as well. A reboot fixed the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 241
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi nigeltrevor,

Could you give the latest beta (6.4.0.397) a try and see if it fixes the missing suggestions with a double dot for you?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigeltrevor



Joined: 10 Jul 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 8:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Aaron Law wrote:
Could you give the latest beta (6.4.0.397) a try and see if it fixes the missing suggestions with a double dot for you?


Hi Aaron, yes this fix has done the job - intellisense across databases now works as before and as expected.

Many thanks!

Nigel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsreynolds1



Joined: 14 Jun 2013
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:36 pm    Post subject: Download of latest release fails... [red herring] Reply with quote

The latest Aug 1 release .zip file seems to be corrupted. I can get many other zip files to extract fine, but not this one.

<<<EDIT>>>

Let me answer my own question: Avast was stopping it (blindly and silently due to my settings) from extracting. I had to disable Avast for 10 minutes in order to install. The extraction and installation went fine thereafter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KevinGreiner



Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found a new problem although it may not be with SQL Prompt.

In Snippet Manager, edit a snippet. Then click "Find out more" at the bottom of the form. I get a new browser window with a 404 page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group