Red Gate forums :: View topic - Visual Studio 2008 - Need to "Connect to Server" every time.
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt Previous Versions
SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum

Visual Studio 2008 - Need to "Connect to Server" every time.

Search in SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
GeraldP



Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2014 11:48 am    Post subject: Visual Studio 2008 - Need to "Connect to Server" every time. Reply with quote

I am not sure what changed, but as of recently I am having a very annoying problem with the SQL Prompt (version 4.0.3) integration in Visual Studio 2008.

SQL Prompt used to pick up the database form the solution/db project somehow. As of recently I need to rerun "Connect to server" every time I open a new window for editing a SQL file.

How does SQL Prompt decide on which connection form the DB project to use? Is there any way I can tell it to use a particular connection for the entire DB project or even the entire solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6667

PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way I understand it, every SQL edit window in a VS database project has a connection associated with it. So when you open the window, Visual Studio is providing the connection information to that Window object and SQL Prompt is using that connection information.

SQL Prompt, by the virtue of the way it works, requires an active connection in a session so it can check for new columns. So you will probably be prompted to connect to that server is you are working disconnected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GeraldP



Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I uninstalled 4.0.3 and dug around our software vaults and found the original installer we had for (4.0.2.53). After installing that everything was working again the way it used to. Not sure if it was the uninstall and re-install process that fixed it, or if it only works with the older version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6667

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi could not find any record of this problem in the bug database except one where it was happening exclusively in VS2012. That was fixed in version 6.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group