Red Gate forums :: View topic - 2.0.8.1 bug: Package directory NOT purged (again)!!!!!
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
Deployment Manager
Deployment Manager forum

2.0.8.1 bug: Package directory NOT purged (again)!!!!!

Search in Deployment Manager forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
mwoffenden



Joined: 08 Jun 2013
Posts: 72
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:52 pm    Post subject: 2.0.8.1 bug: Package directory NOT purged (again)!!!!! Reply with quote

Just ran a deploy.

Set the RedGatePurgePackageDirectoryBeforeCopy = true.

Just as in previous releases, some of the directory files got purged, some got left behind, even though the log reports no errors. I did the deploy today and yet some of the folders have a create/modify date of 7/7/13, indicating they did not get purged. I also watched the deploy on the server and noted that some folders did not get deleted.

How about checking the folder to make sure it's been cleared before proceeding? Or how about throwing an error if there are permission issues?

I've reported this more than once and am shocked that it's not yet been fixed. How can anyone depend on a product that does just half the job?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Upton



Joined: 11 May 2011
Posts: 157
Location: Red Gate

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I've just had a look at the purge directory code in detail to check exactly what happens when the RedGatePurgePackageDirectoryBeforeCopy variable is set to true:

  • If the target directory specified by RedGatePackageDirectoryPath does not exist, it exits immediately
  • If the directory does exist, it then enumerates all the files within the RedGatePackageDirectoryPath folder (and recursively through sub-folders)
  • For each file, 3 attempts are made to delete the file. If any file cannot be deleted after 3 attempts, an error is thrown and the deployment fails.

We don't currently delete the folders, only files within the folders. Are you seeing files left behind after the delete? Is it important to you that the empty folders are deleted?
_________________
Mike Upton

Software Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mwoffenden



Joined: 08 Jun 2013
Posts: 72
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 10:40 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Thanks for the information, however, I've never been able to get the purge to work. And it does not throw an error.

If I can't get a fix for this, I'll have to manually purge the folder, which obviously defeats the purpose of using Deployment Manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Upton



Joined: 11 May 2011
Posts: 157
Location: Red Gate

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would you be able to post a copy of your deployment log when the purge operation fails? If you're not happy to post it on a public forum, you could PM me, or e-mail support@red-gate.com (if you do e-mail the log, could you put 'FAO: Michael Upton' in the subject line so it gets to me quickly).
_________________
Mike Upton

Software Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mwoffenden



Joined: 08 Jun 2013
Posts: 72
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Mike Upton wrote:
Are you seeing files left behind after the delete? Is it important to you that the empty folders are deleted?

I did not see any files left behind, but folders and symbolic links were left behind. And yes, this is important, the use case being that I want to be sure that the folder is 100% clean before publishing. I suspect that most users would want the same behavior.

Indeed, your own documentation defines RedGatePurgePackageDirectoryBeforeCopy as follows:

"If you're using RedGatePackageDirectoryPath, set this variable to True to clean the target directory before copying."

I think that most people would agree that "clean the target directory" means that the clean operation should remove everything from the folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david.conlin



Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just changed this functionality to delete folders (and symbolic links to folders) for you.

Unfortunately, it didn't quite make today's release, although we're hoping it'll make it out as part of a bunch of small tweaks before the end of the week.
_________________
David Conlin
Software Developer
Deployment Manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mwoffenden



Joined: 08 Jun 2013
Posts: 72
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

david.conlin wrote:
I've just changed this functionality to delete folders (and symbolic links to folders)
Great!
_________________
Michael Woffenden
Founder and President
Information Results Corporation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david.conlin



Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The release today (2.1.4) deletes folders as part of a directory purge
_________________
David Conlin
Software Developer
Deployment Manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group