Red Gate forums :: View topic - Showing objects as new
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Memory Profiler 7
ANTS Memory Profiler 7 forum

Showing objects as new

Search in ANTS Memory Profiler 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
mihies



Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 64
Location: Nova Gorica, Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:50 am    Post subject: Showing objects as new Reply with quote

Profiler shows existing objects as new sometimes. I didn't yet try to reproduce the behavior, but it goes like:
- I have a master form with a grid, grid references an object
- click on master form's button to show a new mdi form (this form has reference to calling master form)
- close new mdi form
- now the object referenced by master grid sometimes appears as "new object" with Live Instances=1 and Instance Diff=1. But in reality it wasn't recreated or something.

Note that this isn't always the case, just sometimes. And I am pretty sure that grid wasn't recreated nor its referenced object. Any idea what's going on?
_________________
Miha Markic [MVP C#, INETA Country Leader for Slovenia]
Blog:http://blog.rthand.com
Righthand .net consulting and software development
http://www.rthand.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 589

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed something similar happening recently- I think it might be a bug. I'm checking with the developer since it may well be my lack of understanding at what New/Existing Object really means... Please bear with me while I get a definitive answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 589

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So- 'new object' is defined only in relation to the snapshots taken; 'new' simply means it did not exist in the first selected snapshot. So- your observation is a little out of context since I don't know when you took your snapshots.

Can you do some 'before-and-after' snapshots and check if it now makes more sense.

Please note, each snapshot you take shifts the baseline along by one.

If it's still not making sense, save your results and we'll take a look at them:

support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group