Red Gate forums :: View topic - Lost sql prompt as addin to ssms
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt 5
SQL Prompt 5 forum

Lost sql prompt as addin to ssms

Search in SQL Prompt 5 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
damcis



Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 9:56 pm    Post subject: Lost sql prompt as addin to ssms Reply with quote

My sql prompt is gone from SSMS. Tried to get it back by:
Uninstalled all of sql server management studio and its components. Then uninstalled all of the red gate products (we own sql developers bundle) and then reinstalled SSMS and then redgate and it still does not show.

How can I fix this?
_________________
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stanori



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi damcis,

Thanks for your post. We have created a support ticket for you in regards to this issue and will be contacting you shortly.

Best Regards,
Steve
_________________
_________________
Steve Tanori
Product Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
866-997-0378
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
damcis



Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

I was never contacted...

stanori wrote:
Hi damcis,

Thanks for your post. We have created a support ticket for you in regards to this issue and will be contacting you shortly.

Best Regards,
Steve

_________________
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stanori



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi damcis,

Sorry that you havent been contacted. It looks like we may have an old email address for you. (I just sent you a Private Msg so we can get a current email address)

In regards to this issue, can you please verify that you are running the latest build of SQL Prompt:

ftp://support.red-gate.com/patches/SQLPrompt/15Oct2012/SQLPrompt_5.3.6.28.zip

Also, we will want to find out what OS and SSMS version you are running.

Thanks,
Steve
_________________
_________________
Steve Tanori
Product Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
866-997-0378
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randyv



Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:17 am    Post subject: I too have come up short...maybe Reply with quote

I'm also in a pickle here.

I have SQL Server 2005 EE servers and SQL Server 2008 EE servers.

I installed SQL client for 2008 on my PC and installed SQL Prompt on it.

However, that client gets snarky about opening up the properties on Jobs running on SQL Server 2005 servers.

I got tired of having to deal with it an so I re-installed the SQL Client for 2005.

So, in short, I have both SSMS 2008 and SSMS 2005 running on my PC.
SQL Prompt is still on my toolbar for the SSMS 2008, but not on SSMS 2005.

I have the SQL Prompt license as part of the toolbelt.

So I'm wondering, is this license sufficient to cover both instances of SSMS on my PC. Seems like it should be, but I'm asking because I don't see a way to install it into SSMS 2005.

Thanks in advance for any information you can provide.

Randy Volters
_________________
What we do in life echoes in eternity <><
Randy Volters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
stanori



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi randyv,

In terms of the licensing you do not need two licenses if you are going to run SQL Prompt in two different versions of SSMS.

Best Regards,
Steve
_________________
_________________
Steve Tanori
Product Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
866-997-0378
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PDinCA



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 499
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Randy,

If you're on a dev workstation and have a MSDN subscription, you could get the SQL2008R2 iso and install just the tools.

I've found that SQL 2005, 2008/R2 and 2012 are all tolerated without issue, with SQL Prompt installed, too. All are Enterprise Edition, with a few Standard instances thrown in and a bunch of Express flavors from 2005 and 2008R2.

Hope this helps...

UPDATE:
Dang! First ever issue - right-click Edit Table gives a nasty prefix-suffix error... Try again and the Edit Table window is all grey. At least it works for everything else - so far!


Last edited by PDinCA on Fri Nov 16, 2012 11:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randyv



Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:32 pm    Post subject: How to install? Reply with quote

Steve -

So the next question, how do I install it on SSMS 2005?

Just grab a toolbelt download and install SQL Prompt?
_________________
What we do in life echoes in eternity <><
Randy Volters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
damcis



Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

I'm running latest version of SQL Prompt. I can only tell that by trying to install it again.
SSMS 2008 R2 on Window 7 64bit

Also, it had been working before, but my pc crashed (had to shut it down using the power button cause it wouldn't shut down normally) and it no longer shows in the menu. The tools menu shows sql compare, data compare, data generator, etc. I have completely reinstalled SSMS 2008 R2 and Sql Toolbelt and it didn't help. System restores don't go back far enough to get past the abnormal shutdown. Tried adding keys to the registry and that didn't help either.

-Dan

stanori wrote:
Hi damcis,

Sorry that you havent been contacted. It looks like we may have an old email address for you. (I just sent you a Private Msg so we can get a current email address)

In regards to this issue, can you please verify that you are running the latest build of SQL Prompt:

ftp://support.red-gate.com/patches/SQLPrompt/15Oct2012/SQLPrompt_5.3.6.28.zip

Also, we will want to find out what OS and SSMS version you are running.

Thanks,
Steve
Sad Sad Sad
_________________
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group