Red Gate forums :: View topic - Remote User Authentication Required?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
Exchange Server Archiver
Exchange Server Archiver forum

Remote User Authentication Required?

Search in Exchange Server Archiver forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
SJCAdmin



Joined: 04 Nov 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 10:23 pm    Post subject: Remote User Authentication Required? Reply with quote

I am having a problem with a remote (laptop) user. The machine is Windows XP/SP2, ESA Outlook Client Add-In 3, and Outlook 2007.

When he is hard wired to the LAN Outlook opens as expected, no problems. When he opens Outlook from home using his broadband connection to the Internet he recieves up to four login prompts requiring authentication to one of the ESA Services (he did not give me a clear indication as to which). We are using Outlook RPC over HTTP(S) with cached mode enabled.

Shouldn't Windows authentication take care of this behind the curtain? I mean, he has never had to manually authenticate to Outlook!

Any Ideas?

Thanx in advance!

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Linda Hawksworth



Joined: 25 Jun 2007
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It will be the UAA Service or the OWA add-in that he is connecting to. How does he connect to Outlook? If he uses Outlook, get him to check that he has the UAA Service URL in his Intranet Zone in his browser settings. If it is via OWA, please send the OWA add-in logs from the server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6580

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would imagine to properly troubleshoot this, we would need an HTTP trace from Fiddler. On the local LAN, Windows will transparently pass credentials through the WinInet layer. If the UAAS URL is not in the local intranet zone, for instance if your Windows domain is mycompany.local and your UAAS is mailarchive.mycompany.com, you will have to add the UAAS URL to each computer's Local Intranet zone explicitly or you will be prompted for credentials.

The only reason I can think of for multiple prompts is that you have a web proxy between you and the UAAS, and that proxy does not have power to delegate credentials to the UAAS.

This is all entirely dependent on your network topology, which we know nothing about. I would recommend trying to trace the network activity using Fiddler, and from there you can configure any server inbetween your user and the UAAS so that it can pass credentials.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group