Red Gate forums :: View topic - FTI problems: Cannot use a CONTAINS or FREETEXT predicate
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare Previous Versions
SQL Compare Previous Versions forum

FTI problems: Cannot use a CONTAINS or FREETEXT predicate

Search in SQL Compare Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
rvw



Joined: 19 Nov 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 12:20 pm    Post subject: FTI problems: Cannot use a CONTAINS or FREETEXT predicate Reply with quote

I have the following problem. I want to update a database from a development version, and many times I get the following error message:

Quote:
[7601] Cannot use a CONTAINS or FREETEXT predicate on table or indexed view 'abc' because it is not full-text indexed.


Up til now I've always managed to get it working in the end, but it is a pain. The first action of the compare script is to drop the full text indexes, the one that is referenced here. So after this error message, I need to recreate the FTI for this table. Then I run the compare, the FTI is dropped, the error message appears, I recreate the FTI, etc.

Then somehow, after many tries, something changes and I can update the database, but not the problematic tables. When that happens, I need to repeat the steps one or two times again, and then the update is complete.

This is very annoying. I've been looking for the reason why it suddenly does work, but haven't found it. Can you recommend steps I can take to avoid these problems and run the compare in a predictable manner?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michelle Taylor



Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 529
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work because full text indexes can't be updated transactionally, so we do them all at the end of the script, after the transaction. Unfortunately that means that if you have something which relies on them in the middle of the script, then it will fail with the error you're seeing.

The workaround is to synchronize the fulltext catalogs / tables with fulltext indexes first, and then synchronize the rest of the database.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group